RSPC



Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals





The Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (RSPCA) is a charity operating in England and Wales that promotes animal welfare. In 2011, the RSPCA investigated 159,759 cruelty complaints and collected and rescued 119,126 animals. It is the oldest and largest animal welfare organisation in the world and is one of the largest charities in the UK.







History

The organisation was founded in 1824 (without the "royal" prefix) as the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals; it was established by a group of 22 reformers led by Richard Martin, William Wilberforce and Arthur Broome in "Old Slaughter's Coffee House".





Mission statement

RSPCA inspectors respond to calls from the public to investigate alleged mistreatment of animals. They offer advice and assistance to improve animal welfare, and in some cases prosecute under laws such as the Animal Welfare Act 2006. Animals rescued by the RSPCA are treated, rehabilitated and rehomed or released wherever possible. Where it is not possible to rehome or release an animal the RSPCA may consider humanely euthanaising the animal (normally carried once a 14 day limit is reached).

The RSPCA brings private prosecution (a right available to any civilian) against those it believes, based on independent veterinary opinion, have caused neglect to an animal under laws such as the Animal Welfare Act 2006. The Society has its own legal department and veterinary surgeons amongst the resources which facilitate such private prosecutions. All prosecutions are brought via independent solicitors acting for the RSPCA, as the Association has no legal enforcement powers or authority in its own right.







Funding

The RSPCA is funded primarily by voluntary donations. In 2009, RSPCA total income was £129,251,000, total expenditure was £119,339,000. Its patron is Queen Elizabeth II.



The charity's work has inspired the creation of similar groups in other jurisdictions, starting with the Ulster Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (founded in 1836), and including the Scottish Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (1839), the Dublin Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (1840), the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (1866), the Royal New Zealand Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (1882), and various groups which eventually came together as the Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Australia (1981).





A helping hand to a brighter future



