









## Commercial banks of London



Commercial banks in the UK are called Deposit banks. They form the basis of the banking system. A large part of the operations of Deposit banks are concentrated in 6 of the London clearing banks. They are called so because they are members of the London clearing house. Dominated by the four "National Westminster", "Barclays", "Midland" and "Lloyd" (big four"). These banks are among the largest banks in the world.



## True or false

- 1. Commercial banks in the UK are called Deposit banks.
- 2. A large part of the operations of Deposit banks are concentrated in 6 of the Washington banks.
- 3. Deposit banks serve only industrial companies and financial institutions.
- 4. Demand deposits are credited to current accounts serving as a basis for the Bank's various services.
- 5. Bank interest is paid when the savings account reaches a certain maximum.

## Let's check:

- 1. True
- 2. False
- 3. False
- 4. True
- 5. False

